The Africa Audio Visual Awards (TAVA), instituted to improve the audio visual quality of indigenous content, has continued to elicit support and endorsement from important stakeholders who see the need to elevate the industry to the next level.

Information available is that the Ministry of Information and Communication has endorsed the award.

A source availabe to us revealed that the endorsement was communicated to the organisers of the event in a letter dated April 20 and signed by Mr. Charles Ojugbana for the Honorable Minister, Dora Akunyili.

According to the statement, “They have received a letter of endorsement and the minister promised to attend the event as special guest of honour. You know she is very serious about the national re-branding and the audio visual sector is the most elective vehicle to use to achieve these goals.

In another development, Africa’s prime independent television and cable network, DAAR Communications, owners of Africa Independent Television and Raypower, have sealed a partnership deal with TAVA awards organisers and a major media campaign will soon be unleashed.

TAVA, an annual award conceptualised by Videosonic Studios limited and organised by PRIMAX Global Services Limited, shall reward professionals and propel them towards attaining perfection in their areas of specialisation. The different categories of the awards include: most outstanding Television programme, music video, movie, television house, TV commercial, audio visual equipment, institution and individual. TAVA award which has as its theme: perfect picture, perfect sound, will hold at the Shell hall, Muson Centre on July 9, 2009.

A chat with the president of the award, Mr. Okey Ogunjiofor, whose movie, Living in Bondage, laid the foundation for the present day Nigeria home movie industry, Nollywood, revealed, “We are doing everything to ensure a hitch free and outstanding event. By the grace of God, TAVA awards will be the bench mark for other awards in the nearest possible time”.

Other bodies like the Nigerian Film Corporation, National film and Video Censors Board, Association of Movie Journalists of Nigeria, Association of Movie Producers, Directors Guild of Nigeria, BOB TV, FEPACI, AGN, MPAN, Bisi Olatilo show, etc, have also endorsed the awards