Argentina defender, Marcos Rojo tried to clear his line and headed a ball on to his hand. Penalty! Or so the Nigerian players thought until 41-year-old Turkish referee Cuneyt Cakir consulted the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) and decided Rojo had unintentionally headed the ball to his outstretched arm. No penalty!

However, Super Eagles captain, John Mikel Obi would have none of that; he argued with the referee and told him why the penalty appeal should have been given.

Speaking to BBC Sport after the pulsating encounter that saw Nigeria eliminated from the ongoing World Cup, Mikel said, “It was a clear penalty for me. If you look at the Portugal game yesterday, this wasn’t close to that. This was worse. We have seen it again in the dressing room. It was a clear handball.

“The referee looked at the VAR. He said it hit the hand. I asked why he didn’t give the penalty, but he said he didn’t know.

“We will be really ready for the next World Cup. This team will do great things. It’s a shame we couldn’t continue the amazing journey we’ve had.”