THE decision to bring Nigerians living in Canada together and appreciate those few people who have distinguished themselves as good ambassadors formed the reason All Star Production, Canada owned by Mr Okey Azikwe and Mr. June Jack of Proactive Media are packaging a four-day programme that will make this year’s independence day celebration in Canada a unique one.

Tagged “Nigeria–Canada Independence fiesta and Role Model Awards,” the event will see 13 notable artistes and journalists going from Nigeria. In a telephone chat with Movie People from his base in Canada, Mr. Okey Azikwe said, “the benefit of this fiesta will be bringing Nigeria to Nigerians here in Canada and to Candians at large and also promoting the good image of Nigerians.”

The initial idea, according to Azikwe, “came from my friend, June Jack of Proactive Media Productions, while I visited Nigeria last June. I brought the idea back to Canada and formed a committee with myself as the Chairman, Micheal Olayade as the secretary, Shedrack Dickson and my wife Ify Azikiwe as members.” In his own reaction, Mr. Jack said “the Nigeria – Canada Independence fiesta and Role Model Awards is designed as a weeklong string of activities is to commence between, 1 October and 4, 2008.

“We believe it will create an avenue for closer positive interaction between Nigerians resident in Canada and the Canadian nationals with a view to showcasing areas of similarities in tradition and culture. “To showcase the activities of the Nigerian High Commission in Canada to Nigerians in the diaspora and bring them closer to all Nigerian residents in Canada,” he said.

The Independence Fiesta will feature Nigerian artistes includingTony Tetuila, Ochonna, Zalee, Klint da Drunk and Basorge Tariah. The high point of the event will be the presentation of awards to Nigeria’s entertainment ambassadors namely, Olu Jacobs, Gentle Jack, Mercy Johnson, Ini Edo and Lilian Bach. Some of the people that will be recieving the professional awards are Dr. Owolabi and Dr. Agulefo, while Chief Mbulu and Dr. Isa Odidi will receive entrepreneur awards respectively.