The 8th edition of the prestigious African Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA) returned after a year hiatus as a result of Covid19. The event characterized with glitz and glamour took place yesterday at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island.

An annual gathering of industry professionals and lovers of African movies and television recognizes outstanding achievement in television and film.

Hosted by IK Osakioduwa and South African television personality, Bonang Matheba, the award ceremony saw actor and influencers, Osas Ighodaro and Denola Grey carting home the award of best dressed male and female.

Below is a full list of the winners in the 33 categories.

Best Actress In a Drama: Osas Ighodaro – Rattlesnake : The Ahanna Story

Best Actor in a Drama: Stan Nze – Rattlesnake : The Ahanna Story

Best Actress in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series: Funke Akindele-Bello – Omo Ghetto the Saga

Best Actor in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series): Broda Shaggi – Dwindle

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series): Omowummi Dada – Country Hard

Best Supporting Actor (Movie/TV Series): Odunlade Adekola – Jankariwo

AMVCA Trailblazer Award: Teniola Aladese

Best Director: Ramsey Nouah – Rattle Snake: The Ahanna Story

Art Director (Movie/TV series): Tunji Afolayan – Amina

Best Picture Editor: Tunde Apalowo – For Maria Ebun Pataki

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV series): Jim Lively and James Nelson – Amina

Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series): Mathew Yusuf for Rattlesnake- The Ahanna Story

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series): Manie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia and Biodun Stephen – Introducing The Kujus

Cinematographer: Muhammed Atta Ahmed – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Makeup: Balogun Abiodun – Omo Ghetto The Saga

Best Costume Designer: Millicent T. Jack – Amina

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili): Freddy Feruzi – Obambo

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Hausa): Rogers Ofime for Voiceless

Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Yoruba): David Akande, Demola Yusuf and Edgard Leroy – Alasie

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Igbo): Uche Nnanna Maduka – ‘Nne-Ka

Best Television Series (Drama/ Comedy): Rogers Ofime -The Mystic River

Best Documentary: Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz and Ann Katrina Boberg – If Objects Could Speak

Short Film Or Online Video: Taiwo Ogunnimo – I Am The Prostitute Mama Described

Best Online Social Content Creator: Oga Sabinus – Mr Funny

Best Movie (Southern Africa): Hairareb- Dantagos Jimmy-Melani

Best Movie (East Africa): The Girl In The Yellow Jumper- Morocco Omar

Best Movie (West Africa): Collision Course – Bolanle Austen-Peters and Joseph Umoibom

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series): Gold Coast Lounge – Pascal Aka and Raquel

Best Africa Magic Original Comedy Series : The Johnsons

Best Africa Magic Original Drama Series: The Rishantes’ – Dimbo Atiya