Winners of the 2009/2010 edition of the Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC) Annual Film Essay Competition have been announced. They are Messrs Anayochukwu Precious Mbagwu(1st), Kehinde Akindele Akintobi( 2nd) and Akindele Oladimeji Ibimidu (3rd). The three beat 42 (Fourty-two) other Nigerians who participated in the keenly contested essay competition with the topic “Building a Positive Global Brand: The Place of Film”.

A statement by the Corporation indicates that the winners have earned cash prizes of N100,000; N75, 000 and N50,000 respectively. The topic for the 2009/2010 edition, the statement added was to complement the Re-Branding Nigeria project initiated by the Federal Government.

Meanwhile, Afolabi Adesanya, Managing Director of NFC, has congratulated the winners for coming tops in the 2009/2010 edition of the competition. Adesanya said their participation, alongside other Nigerians, is an indication that indeed the efforts of management of the Corporation to provide another platform such as the annual essay competition, for private participation in strengthening the fortunes of Nigeria’s motion picture industry were being adequately utilized. The Corporation, he said, will continue to sustain the annual film essay competition and called on private individuals, corporate organizations to sponsor the Film Essay Competition.

The 2009/2010 film essay competition is the fourth in the series which started in 2006. Over two hundred (200) participants have been recorded since the competition began, with twelve of the participants emerging winners.

Cash prizes and certificates of participation will be presented to the winners at the 2010, and 5th edition of the biennial ZUMA Film Festival holding at the Nicon Luxury Hotel, Abuja from May 2nd-6th 2010.

The NFC Annual Film Essay Competition provides a platform for the articulation of various shades of intellectual opinion by interested members of the public who must be 18 years of age and above, on carefully selected topics. Winning essays are thereafter published and made available for research purpose. The 2010/2011edition of the essay competition kicks off in June, this year.