On Wednesday, 10 November, 16 youths, drawn from across ten African countries entered the Next Movie Star House in search of fame, pride and glory. They came well prepared and for the past two weeks, the house mates had been going through several training and grooming sessions by accomplished professionals as part of the organisers’ commitment to engendering an informative, entertaining and educative show.

According to the executive producer of the show, Sola Fajobi, “this year’s show is going to be especially very interesting because we have house mates from ten African countries that are all very talented in their own right. The house mates are also conscious of the fact that they need to dig into the depth of their talents to convince viewers who would determine the ultimate winner that they deserve the NMS crown knowing well that winners and contestants of NMS have gone on to achieve continental glory.”

This is the sixth edition of the NMS which berthed in 2005 to serve as a springboard for unheralded talents to enter the Nigerian movie industry in grand style. Over the years, the show has produced countless movie stars including Portia Yamahan, Tonto Dike, Annie Macaulay, Moyo Lawal, Eyo, who was on the last Project Fame West Africa and Lydia Forson, the Ghanaian contestant in 2007 that went on to become a joint winner of the best actress award at the 2009 Africa Movie Academy Awards. Kevin Chuwang Pam, who won the 2009 Big Brother Africa was a first runner up in the NMS in 2006 while Uti Nwachukwu, winner of the just concluded Big Brother Africa All Stars, was first runner up in the NMS 2007 edition.

The 2010 NMS will be broadcast on NTA network everyday until 10 December.