Sunday October 31st, 2010, might have come and gone, it has obviously found its way into Nigeria’s book of record, as for the first time ever, the neglected Broadcasters, On-Air Personalities And Deejays were honoured and celebrated during an event tagged ‘Broadcasters Nite Out And Awards’.

Despite the hiccups and failure to get the corporate bodies behind its back for the laudable project, Reality.1 Entertainment Incorporated and News of the People Magazine, the brains behind the event shamed critics and doubting Thomasses, who thought that the show would not roll.

Besides that, the organizers, did deserve a pat on the back for turning flaws and weaknesses of the management staff of TRIBECA, the venue used, to strength, in making the event a success. Why would they have given out the venue that supposedly can accommodate one event to two people for the same date, and the same time? Nevertheless, thank God, all went well, as some of the greatest voices and faces on airwaves came in numbers.

However, the show, which was scheduled for 4pm with red carpet reception, could not start until 7pm, no thanks to African time, which was kept by most of the invited guests. While the dignitaries that had showed up earlier waited patiently, the D.J Dee, who represented Efizzy World Wide Entertainment, stood in before the arrival of DJ Humility, rocked the guests to nice tune from the old and new schools joint.

It was fun, frill and thrills at the red carpet, as TV famous faces, top shots behind the scene and camera shy but microphone loving on -air personalities were being interviewed. At precisely a few minutes to 7pm, Oyinkansola, the newly discovered and unsung highly gifted soulful singer, sang Nigeria’s national anthem, which marked the commencement of the show.

The event that was jointly anchored by the Nigerian Broadcasters Awards evergreen winner, Kunle Job and the rising air-waves star, MC ICE WATER, was followed immediate with a minute of silence been observed for all the late Broadcasters and On-Air Personalities, whose death are still fresh in our minds. True to the arrangement, Kunle Job and MC Ice Water were the Duty Continuity Announcers (DCA) of the maiden edition of ‘Nigerian Broadcasters Awards (NBA) live studio presentation.

DJ Humility raised the roof by dishing out sweet vibes from the wheels of steel. And due to time constraints, the likes of African China, Artquake, Orezi, Zdon, Sheyman, Lil’Jojo among the rising and shining music stars, who were billed to perform, it was only the sweet-voiced, Oyinkansola that could hit the stage for the enjoyment of the notable guests and awardees. On the endless list of those, who grace the occasion include, Baba Babs Fashina, Kenny Ogungbe, African China, Cossy Orjiakor, Goldie, Zakki Adzay, Olu Maintain, Mayo Ayilara, the DG of MCSN, Bolaji Rosiji, Ayo Sogbuyi, Teddy Esosa (Star FM) Labi (TVC), Toolz (Beat FM), Azaria (Top FM), Kolade Ajayi (Culbeed Media Boss), Ogyny, Steve Onu a.k.a Yaw and Lolo One of Wazobia FM, Sola and Joke Rogers, Gboyega Labiran, Eric, the General Manager of Ben TV, Davina, crew from AIT, LTV 8, MiTV, Eko FM, Galaxy TV, Channels TV, STV, Brilla FM, Radio Nigeria, NTA among many others.

The First ever ‘Nigerian Broadcasters Awards also witnessed the formal launching of ‘Air-waves Watch, a bi-monthly magazine for all the juiciest stories in the electronic media world. While making pledges for he birth of ‘Airwaves Watch, Kenny Ogungbe took the floor making a pledge of three million naira worth of airtime promo for the magazine on radio and T.V plus cash pledge of N100, 000. Mr. Eric, the BEN TV’s General Manager also pledges several millions of naira worth of airtime promo for the magazine while Dancehall king, African China promised to do a special promo to be use on radio and TV.


*Nigerian Broadcasters Life Time Achievement Awards.

*Ambassaador Segun Olusola-

*Ben Bruce -.

*Chief Steve Ojo

*John Momoh-

*Larry Izamoje-.

*Nigerian Broadcasters Hall Of Fame

Jacob Akinyemi Johnson (JAJ

Femi Sowoolu

Kenny Ogungbe

Funmi Iyanda


Radio Presenter of the Year (Male)- Steve Onu a.k.a Yaw (Wazobia FM)

Radio Presenter of the Year (Female)- Tolu ‘Toolz’ Oniru (Beat FM)

Sport Presenter of the Year- Godwin Enakhena (Sports Splash LTV8).

Most popular In- House D.J- DJ Humility (Rhythm 93.7FM)

Newscaster of the Year- Suleiman Aledeh(Channels TV)

TV Presenter of the Year – ANDRE BLAZE(Nigezie)

TV Station of the Year- GALAXY TV

Indigenous Radio Station of the Year- Wazobia FM

Radio Station of the Year- Inspiration FM

Commercial Advert of the Year- NBL’s new Star advert

Best Nigerian T.V. Station in Diaspora- UK based BEN TV

Business/Life Program of the Year- Crime Watch on TVC